Friday, November 14, 2014

2017-2021 Men's Final Four Sites Announced

The NCAA revealed today the locations for the Men's Final Four for the years 2017-2021. Among the sites include a first-time host, two new stadiums and two familiar places.

The 2017 Final Four will take place at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. It will be the first Men's Final Four to take place in Arizona and the first west coast Final Four since Seattle hosted in 1995.

The Alamodome in San Antonio gets their fourth Final Four in 2018, first since 2008 when Kansas cut down the nets after the first Final Four to feature all four No. 1 seeds.

2019 and 2020 will feature two new stadiums. 2019 will be in Minneapolis at the new Vikings stadium, the same stadium that will host Super Bowl LII. Atlanta and the new Falcons stadium were awarded 2020's Final Four.

2019 will be the fourth Final Four for the city of Minneapolis, and the first since 2001 at the H.H.H. Metrodome, which was won by Duke. Atlanta will have a handful of Final Fours after 2020, as this will be their fifth time hosting, first since 2013 when Louisville won it all.

Finally, Indianapolis claimed their eighth Final Four. Being the home of the NCAA and the place where the Selection Committee gathers obviously helps the city. Lucas Oil Stadium is hosting this season's Final Four, come April and now get another one seven years later.

Cities/areas that made a bid but were not selected were New Orleans, North Texas and St. Louis.

North Texas just hosted the 2014 Final Four, New Orleans last hosted in 2012 and St. Louis has not had one since 2005.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

First 2015 Bracket Projections

Welcome back, my friends! The Bracketology Corral is back in action as the 2014-15 NCAA Basketball season begins Friday. It feels like just yesterday we were watching seventh-seeded Connecticut team take down eighth-seeded Kentucky in the finals of what was one of the more thrilling NCAA Tournaments that included an 11-seed advance to the Elite Eight.

But that's in the rear-view mirror and now we begin the road to Indianapolis and the 2015 Final Four.

To get things started, here is my first bracket of the new season. And remember, it's November. Things will change very quick, but it's always fun to try to piece together some kind of puzzle and have something to build off of. So with that in mind, enjoy.

Kentucky, Arizona, Wisconsin and Duke make up the top line in this bracket with Kansas, North Carolina, Florida and Louisville on the two-line. Defending champion Connecticut sits as a No. 4.

The last four in are Northern Iowa, West Virginia, Massachusetts and Notre Dame. First four out are Georgetown, Boise State, Arizona State and Providence.

And now, for the first time this season, the full bracket.

Credit to Gary Gerba for the bracket design.