Friday, October 20, 2017

Big Ten announces 20-game schedule for 2018-19

In a statement released Thursday, the Big Ten announced they have approved a change to the conference schedule, increasing the numbers of men's games from 18 to 20 and increasing the number of women's games from 16 to 18, starting with the 2018-19 basketball season.

The new schedule format for the men will see each team play seven opponents twice and six opponents once (three home, three away). The new schedule allows more in-state and regional games to be scheduled every year. The current 18-game schedule sees each team play five opponents twice and eight opponents once, which will be the new scheduling format for the women when they transition to the 18-game schedule.

The three in-state rivalries (Northwestern-Illinois, Indiana-Purdue and Michigan-Michigan State) will be played twice every season and regional games will also see an increase in frequency.

Perhaps this means more meetings between Ohio State and Penn State or Nebraska and Iowa, for example.

For 2017-18, the three in-state rivalries will only be played once each, with Purdue visiting Indiana, Northwestern hosting Illinois and Michigan at Michigan State.

The Big Ten will announce at a later date the schedule of opponents for 2018-19.

Here's each team's list of double opponents for 2017-18.

Illinois: Illinois, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State

Iowa: Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State

Maryland: Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern, Penn State, Purdue

Michigan: Iowa, Maryland, Northwestern, Ohio State, Purdue

Michigan State: Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Minnesota: Indiana, Iowa, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue

Nebraska: Illinois, Minnesota, Penn State, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Northwestern: Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Penn State, Wisconsin

Ohio State: Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Penn State, Rutgers

Penn State: Iowa, Maryland, Nebraska, Northwestern, Ohio State

Purdue: Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Rutgers: Illinois, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State, Purdue

Wisconsin: Illinois, Michigan State, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue

No comments:

Post a Comment